Welcome to Sharbot Lake, a very beautiful and special place. This small wonder is surrounded by many lakes that are home to incredible beaches, hiking trails, camp sites, tours, hunting fishing and other recreational activities.
Sharbot Lake is simplicity at your door, but with all the luxuries to make your stay even more enjoyable. Sip on a delicious cappuccino made by a friendly barista, visit our local pub to take in a Juno award winning act or hire a boat for the day and marvel at the natural beauty of our lake. In need of necessities? Visit our friendly neighbourhood hardware store, gas stations, grocery stores, bank, post office, pharmacy, liquor and beer stores, restaurants.
The accommodation is just as wide ranging and welcoming; enjoy the finest country cottages, go chic and stay at some of the dreamiest cabin scapes, snuggle up in a charming B&B, stay at one of the best inns where each room has an incredible view, or put up a tent at a beautifully located campsite.
One of the delights of visiting Sharbot Lake is exploring the different neighbouring towns, each with their own identity and history. Explore old English villages of cobbled coloured architecture; take in splendid lively farmers markets; visit some of Ontario’s greatest craft makers and artisans; walk through breath taking landscapes along historic trails or make a splash in our lakes.
For those history buffs out there, legend says Sharbot Lake began as a trading post around the 1800s. However, artifacts and archival documents prove that this was for centuries the gathering territory for Aboriginal tribes. Sharbot Lake attracted Algonquin settlement because it sat at the cross roads of several traditional transportation and trading routes. Families of these tribes were known to travel via Fall River road to customarily hunt, fish and trap down a tract that lead into Oso township. Oso being the Spanish word for bear was originated from Spanish influence of Sir Peregrine Maintland, the Lietuenant Governor at the time.
After 1844 the customary hunting tracts were overrun by lumbermen. Eventually, most of the Algonquin families living in Sharbot Lake, left. Sharbot Lake saw the biggest growth during the lumbering days and then a resurgence of business came with the railroads in 1877-1880.
According to village history The Sharbot's were the village's first permanent residents. Chief Francis Sharbot and Susan Mary Nagritte, came from the Lake of the Two Mountains, Quebec along with the Beavers (settled in Lanark County), Antoines and Whiteducks. Chief Francis and Susan M Nagritte came up the Mississippi and Fall rivers where they made camp on one of the many attractive points on Sharbot Lake. Overtime, a village grew on the shore of this lake that was eventually named after them.
Sharbot Lake itself consist of two bodies of water, Upper and Lower lakes with a total length of over 10 miles and containing 99 islands of various sizes. The lake was known as “Crooked Lake in 1826” and “Chabot in 1856”.
Whether Sharbot Lake was established in 1856 or 1876 still remains a mystery. What we do know is that it's rich in Algonquin history and that it was home to a creamery, numerous saw mills, a 800 foot floating bridge and once home to the fittest man on Earth, Matt Fraser!